Feijão Preto e Arroz

Black Beans and Rice…

I used to live in Brazil (São José dos Campos, SP, then São Paulo, SP) when I was a teen. We ate beans and rice every single day. At the time, I didn’t appreciate the value of it, I only compared it to what I was used to from Canada and the fact that I wasn’t getting that. I do appreciate the experience now, and know that it shaped who I am today. I’m glad, and looking forward to eating Feijão e Arroz often again. Maybe not every single day, but often enough.

This is the pot of beans I started this morning…

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

Really simple food: 2 C beans, water, salt and pepper, diced onion, garlic (I stirred in the minced garlic about an hour before we ate). Boil over medium heat for the better part of the day. Keep adding water as needed. Stir occasionally to avoid sticking/burning. Serve with rice or quinoa.

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved
2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

The rice is super-simple to make Brazilian-style, too: 1 C brown rice (rinsed), chopped onion, minced garlic, salt and pepper, EVOO, 1.5 C water.  Saute onion in EVOO over medium. Add rinsed rice and toss to coat. Continue to cook a few minutes, until onion and rice begin to look transparent. Add salt and pepper and minced garlic. Cook another minute or so. Do not burn garlic. Add water and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to minimum and cover for 30 minutes. Fluff with fork once done.

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

How you eat your beans and rice is up to you. I like to put the beans in first, then top with rice.

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

…or this way…

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

I’ll take my beans any way!

2 thoughts on “Feijão Preto e Arroz

  1. Pingback: Feijão denovo… | veggiewitch

  2. Pingback: Fart Sandwich FTW! | veggiewitch

What do you think?

