Kapowder FTW!

I’m coming to terms with a lot of the “gobbledygook” I was taught while growing-up about protein, meats, and dairy products. As I’ve said in previous posts, my evolution to a vegan-based diet was a progression after 5 years semi-veggie. As well, our diet changes were driven for health-conscious reasons, and although the ethical reasons to embrace vegan-eating are understood and accepted, they were not the primary catalyst. That said, I want to make sure that in addition to the fibre and nutrient-rich veggie juice we get in our daily smoothies, we also get sufficient veg-based proteins, etc.

While scouring the interwebz to find a palatable, powdered, Organic source of veggie protein, I kept coming back to spirulina. Spirulina is an algae that is rich in protein (16g protein per 1 tsp serving) and essential minerals. The Aztecs have been using spirulina for centuries. In an effort to add variety, I kept looking and found wheatgrass and red maca interesting. Wheatgrass is not high in protein, but it is rich in beta-carotene, calcium, chlorophyll, fiber, iron and vitamin K. Yay! The red maca powder got my attention with it’s energy-boosting abilities, as well as having several essential amino acids and a sweet, caramel-like smell. Double-yay! I was still wanting to round the flavors out, so I keep looking. Both pomegranate and açaí are high in anti-oxidants as well being yummy, so I went with them! Triple-yay!

After everything arrived, I tasted each powder separately to get a feel for them. Wow! I was pleasantly surprised with the spirulina, because I had envisioned a flavor resembling that of fresh-cut grass. Not at all what I got. Yes, the best way to describe it is “green,” but more like an “I’ve just eaten a gorgeous fresh kale and spinach salad”-kind of green. The wheatgrass was very light on my nose, and had a slightly-sweet, delicate aftertaste. The red maca filled my nose with a definite caramel fragrance, and tasted a little like a powdered potato. Both the pomegranate and açaí were sweet and tart. Delicious! This is what I’m working with now, although I may change amounts and/or add fruit powders in the future:

Basic Kapowder
2 C spirulina* powder
2 C wheatgrass* powder
2 C red maca* powder
1.5 C açaí* powder
2 C pomegranate* powder
* = Organic
 

:: Sift all the powders through a wire sieve into a large bowl or bucket you have a lid for. I used an empty ice cream bucket. =0) With a wire whisk or spoon, stir through to incorporate all the powders. Store in the fridge. For Smoothies, use 1 semi-heaping Tbsp per blender-full, or 1 tsp (1/3 of a scoop-full similar to the one pictured below) per individual glass (mixed with fruit juice or water). I really like my little coffee scoop like this…

…but my scoop is white. ;0) I find it’s a great amount heaping for full blenders or 1/3-full for single-servings.

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

Green Kapowder Smoothie: banana, 1 heaping-scoop of Kapowder, 1/2 C frozen strawberries, coconut milk. It was awesome!

6 thoughts on “Kapowder FTW!

  1. Pingback: Thank you, Saradraws! *squishy hugs* | veggiewitch

What do you think?

