Veggiewitch:

I was talking about this last week. The whole thing had my knickers in a twist! I think a far better study would in fact be what is suggested in this post: Eating Junk Food Makes You Fat, Stupid, Infertile and Lazy. (I had to throw the last one in there, because the first point in the original article was that the woman was nonplussed to have been unable to find a ‘ready-to-serve’ fruit platter at a Farmer’s Market. Honestly Woman! Have you never heard of DIY?? Ok, maybe I am a jerk? Naw, I doubt it!

Originally posted on Activist Awake:

May 23, 2012 | Natural Society

Do you eat real, organic food? If you do, you must be a jerk, according to a new ridiculous ‘scientific study’ that most likely has financial ties to factory farm corporations and junkfood makers across the planet.

Instead of discussing the wide variety of health benefits of eating real food — the kind made without harmful pesticides that actually make you stupid, the researchers use participants to show how ‘eating organic can make you a jerk’.

Now spanning the mainstream media headlines, the ‘scientists’ use the fact that those who eat organic are ‘stingier with their volunteering’ time as one of the reasons as to why it could ‘make you a jerk’.

What the scientists do not discuss, as it is much more serious and could potentially change the way that the public eats (and spends their money), is the serious illnesses associated…

View original 214 more words

15 thoughts on “

    • We’re experiencing shortages of things (potatoes, apples, celery, etc), and it’s getting a little odd. We’ve opted for other seasonal organic choices instead, though. You do what you can. ♥

  1. This is hilarious. I wonder if it is also the cause of many other world problems. Maybe it was an organic foodgrower that started the second world war! Will reblog, some studies arent worth the paper they are written on. Thanks for sharing veggiewitch!

  2. i wrote about this on my FB page, but from the other end: one, i can’t generally afford organic on food stamps; wish i could. two, it’s the same ego-tripping that keeps me from working with certain animal-rescue and enviro groups. i have no time to waste on people who brag about how green their SUV is (i haven’t had wheels for 16 years), or that they use CREDO (i sign all their petitions, but i don’t have a cell phone.) i don’t even use public transportation, i WALK. my carbon footprint is about zero. and i haven’t contributed to overpopulation, the main cause of our enviro problems, because i have no kids. but i still get shit on by painfully-PC nincompoops.(that was my little diatribe. i wish i still lived somewhere where i could grow my own produce! it was great when i could!) :)

  3. I disagree completely! Eveything I grow in my garden is organic & I love it that way! I also buy organic veggies & organic meat. I love the taste & the flavours are much better & also organic meat looks better! :) I completely disagree! :)

    • I’d love to have homegrown. Our crappy condo-board is blocking all new gardens. C’est la vie! Maybe once we buy our own home. =0)
      I guess that makes my family and I just organic, vegan jerks!
      Organic Jerks FTW! ♥

What do you think?

