Veggiewitch:

I’m going to share this one today, too. I know it’s not even remotely vegan, but there might be a few people willing to try this recipe, or even veganize it. Tempeh maybe? It’s already G-Free. ♥

I originally posted it in 2010 on my brigodoomy.blogspot bloggity-blog. I’ve only been totally meat/dairy-free since January of this year. *happy dancing*

Originally posted on Mouldylocks:

My “Maple-Bacon Cupcakes” are awesome! Wahoo! And the recipe goes like this:

Maple-Bacon Cupcakes
1 C maple syrup
1/2 C apricot seed oil (olive or vegetable oil work, too)
2 large free-range eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 C buckwheat flour (spelt works well, too, if you prefer it)
1/2 C brown rice cereal
1 3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 C milk (coconut, soy and rice milk work well, too)
1-2 C chopped bacon

Fry bacon and chop into small pieces, set aside. Preheat oven to 350° F (175° C). Line cupcake pan with cupcake liners. In a medium bowl mix together the maple syrup and oil. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Combine flour, cereal and baking powder in seperate bowl, add slowly to vanilla mixture and mix well. Stir in milk until batter is smooth. Fold in bacon bits, reserving approximately 1/2…

View original 171 more words

11 thoughts on “

  1. I make something similar for those I love. It’s a fabulous vanilla-blueberry-maple-bacon cupcake topped with frosting and blueberry compote. My husband (and everyone else I know) loves bacon. I based it on the blueberry waffles from Original Pancake House. People cannot get enough of them. Although I stopped being vegan (after a decade) when I married a chef in 2010, it could be veganized fairly easily. Now I am hungry for sweets.

    • I won’t be making this version anymore, my friend. The original recipe is mine from 2010. I can safely say they were good, even if I’m not into bacon, dairy, eggs, or other animal by-products anymore.
      VEGAN FTW!

What do you think?

