Stuffed Cabbage

Stuffed Cabbage

This was so good, and was an incredible hit with my Elflings. I didn’t expect them to like it so much, which made for a wonderful and awesome surprise.

Stuffed Cabbage
1 whole cabbage*
2 tomatoes*
1-2 cloves garlic*
olive* oil
cooked brown rice* or quinoa*
mixed vegetables*
salt and pepper* to taste
Vegan Besciamella*
spinach* leaves
minced parsley*
* = Organic

 Prepare your rice or quinoa ahead, and let them cool. Preheat oven to 375°F/190°C/Gas Mark 5. Slice your tomatoes thinly, and mince your garlic. Set aside. Clean and pat dry your cabbage leaves, then fill them with rice or quinoa and your choice of chopped/sliced mixed veg. I had some brown rice and veg (carrots, broccoli, minced cabbage, onions, green onions, green peppers, and garlic) stir-fry left-overs that I used. In a dish with a lid, pour a glug of oil into the bottom, and layer with tomato slices, a bit of minced garlic, and a few dashes of salt and pepper. Begin placing your stuffed cabbage bundles into the dish. You can pack them decently snug. Sprinkle with a little more oil (or not, it’s up to you), and layer with your remaining tomato slices and garlic bits. A few more dashes of pepper and salt, cover, and bake in the oven for 45 minutes. When it’s almost done, prepare your Vegan Besciamella. Remove the lid and ladle the besciamella over the cabbage bundles. Return to the oven for another 10-15 minutes to brown. Serve over a bed of spinach, drizzled besciamella, and a sprinkling of parsley. Enjoy!

Stuffed Cabbage

Baking away in the oven. 

Stuffed Cabbage

My middle Elfling quickly snapped this shot of her plate. 

20 thoughts on “Stuffed Cabbage

  1. sounds good. i’d personally substitute the rice or quinoa, at least as an alternative version, with a diced potato fried in canola oil. it’s a very Russian-sounding recipe either way..

  2. Pingback: Where Twinkies Come From (You’ll Never Guess) « LDS Convert

  3. I am German (and English/Native American) and this is one of my family dishes I gave up when I went Vegan soooo many years ago (I love cabbage like nobody’s business). I occasionally eat meat now but….this is sooooo calling my name! Especially since Quinoa is a staple of my diet.

  4. VW,
    If I had a stove right now, I would be pleasing my one-ab with stuffed cabbages.
    Le Very Hungry Clown

What do you think?

