Quinoa Taco Filling

Quinoa Taco Filling

We have Tofu Tacos at least once a week. My Elflings ask for them if I don’t make them at least once. I’ve started adding quinoa to the batches I make, and I like the added texture.

Quinoa Taco Filling
1 C quinoa*
1 C water
oil* (coconut, safflower, olive)
1 medium onion*
2-3 roma tomatoes*
2-3 peppers*
2 small pkgs extra-firm tofu*
2-3 minced cloves garlic*
1 Tbsp cumin*
1 Tbsp turmeric*
½ Tbsp chili* powder
salt and pepper* to taste
* = Organic

Prepare quinoa (bring 1 C water to a boil – add quinoa – stir – turn down/off heat – cover for 10 minutes). While you are dicing your onion, heat oil in your skillet. Toss onions into the hot skillet and stir. Chop your peppers and add them to the skillet, as well. Dice your tomatoes, and set them aside. Crumble your tofu into the pan and stir to combine. Add your spices, tomatoes, garlic, and seasonings. Combine well. Add your hot quinoa, and stir it all up. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Quinoa Taco Filling

  1. YES! Quinoa tacos! I saw this idea on another blog too (but theirs was styled more like ‘mince meat’ so yours looks prettier, hehe) and think it’s genius! I can’t wait to try it. NOM! :-)

    • hehe… thank you, my friend. ♥
      The first time I added quinoa, I was really just trying to use up some left-overs. It went so well, I keep on doing it. ♥

  2. Yummmm: this is one great & tasty quinoa tofu filling! When I saw the picture I thought that you used saffron in it: it is so yellow! :) But it is turmeric! :(

What do you think?

