Sunday Morning Pancakes

I love these pancakes, and so do my Elflings and mister. They’re my favorite go-to recipe for pancakes whenever we feel like having them. I prefer to make mine G-Free when I have the gluten-free flours on hand. I feel heaps better without gluten in my diet; however, I have not been tested for celiac or gluten sensitivities, I just know that I prefer to avoid it.

2012 © copyright Oak an' Willow, all rights reserved
2012 © copyright Oak an’ Willow, all rights reserved
Pancakes
1 substitute equiv to a large egg (or 1 large egg)
1 banana
1 C coconut milk (soy or dairy milk work fine, too)
1 Tbsp olive oil (apricot or other such veg oil are fine)
1 C rice flour (quinoa, buckwheat, sorghum, or wheat flours, too)
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp sea salt
margarine (or butter) for frying
 
:: Mix the egg substitute or egg to frothy. Add banana, milk and oil until well-blended. Mix in flour, powder and salt. Melt margarine (or butter) in frying pan over medium heat. Pour in batter to desired size (I like to swirl to cover to cover the bottom for large pancakes, silver-dollar pancakes are a hit with the munchkins). Flip pancakes once edges are dry and bubbles fill the surface area. The other side takes less time. Continue making pancakes until you’re sick of it. Pour maple syrup or your favorite jam/jelly on top and dig in. Enjoy!
 
What do you think?

