WOW!

Before I even start babbling, I want to first take a moment to thank iwishiwerevegan for posting the blog entry that inspired me. Your post that mentioned “Tofu Tacos” did it, and I love it! THANK YOU! *squishy hugs*

My Elflings helped me chop/eat the yellow peppers (My youngest actually picked out the pepper at the grocery store and insisted she needed it. At $3 I’m really glad she needed it for survival. <gg>), onions, parsley, garlic, etc. They took turns adding stuff and stirring it all together, too… I need for them to know how to prepare food.

While I was setting the table, one of my Elflings tasted the tofu and asked: “Mommy, is this the tofu?”

“Yes,” I said, “that’s it.”

“It’s awesome!” she replied.

I smiled, hugged her and thought of iwishiwerevegan. =0)

2012 © copyright Oak an' Willow, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright Oak an' Willow, all rights reserved

Tofu Tacos
1 lb extra-firm tofu*
1 yellow or red pepper*, chopped
1/2 an onion*, chopped
1 large tomato*, diced
1 tsp cumin*
1 tsp chili powder*
fresh parsley*, chopped
2 cloves of garlic*, minced
1 Tbsp salsa* (mild, medium, whatever)
glug of EVOO*
salt (I used 2-3 tsp) and pepper* to taste
* = Organic
 
:: Saute onions in EVOO over medium heat. Add cumin and chili powder. Stir to mix. Add peppers, tomatoes and hand-crumbled tofu. Mix together and heat through. Add salsa and parsley. Mix. Add minced garlic, then season to taste. Serve with your favorite taco shell. I prefer to wrap mine in a large lettuce leaf. Enjoy!
2 thoughts on “WOW!

  1. I’m so glad to hear that the tofu tacos were a hit! It’s great that you flavored it on your own, and even more amazing that your kids actually helped you cook. I find that even my non-veg friends are addicted to tofu tacos, and now you understand why :)

    • Th Tofu Tacos were a smashing hit! I have to thank for the inspiration. =0) My middle Elfling asks all the time to make suppers. LOL! It’s wonderful. My youngest are twins, and the younger offered to make supper for the next 3 days. She’s great at making salads. =0)

What do you think?

