Chia Pudding and Granola

I’ve been playing around with Chia seeds, and I’m smitten. These little guys are so versatile and good for you.

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

This is our dessert from last night, Chia Pudding. Super-easy recipe, too!

Chia Pudding
1/2 C Chia* seeds
1 C soy* milk
1 C coconut* milk
1 mashed banana*
1 handful of dried fruit* (I sliced up a handful of dried figs*, optional)
1/2 tsp cinnamon*
splash of Maple* syrup (optional)
* = Organic

:: Pour your Chia seeds into a bowl and add your milk. Stir thoroughly. Mix in mashed banana, dried fruit, cinnamon and syrup. Stir it all up, then put it in the fridge for 15 minutes. You’ll notice the consistency has thickened. Stir it up, and return to the fridge for another 10 minutes or so. Enjoy! If you prepare this in advance (the night before, or first thing in the morning), the pudding will be much thicker. Additionally, you can add a little milk to thin it down, if needed.

And now for something completely different!

We are Crunchy. I’m sure you’ve suspected it, so I’m confirming your suspicions. My name is Veggiewitch, and I am Crunchy.

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

My granola is also crunchy! This recipe is super-easy!

Raw Granola
2 C raw oats* (quinoa* flakes, sprouted buckwheat* groats, etc would be perfect substitutes)
1/2 C flax* seeds
1/2 C Chia* seeds
1/2 C unsalted pumpkin* seeds
1/2 C unsalted sunflower* seeds
1/2 C raw pecans* (optional)
1/2 C raw almonds* (optional)
1/2 C hemp* hearts
1/2 C cacao* nibs
1 C dried cranberries*
1 C chopped, dried apricots*
1 C chopped, dried figs*
1/2 C Maple* syrup
1/2 tsp cinnamon*
* = Organic

:: Add your oats (or substitute), seeds, hemp hearts and cacao nibs to a bowl. Stir it up. Break-up the nuts into smaller pieces, and add them to the bowl. Throw in the dried fruit and maple syrup. Mix thoroughly. Sprinkle the mixture with cinnamon, and stir. Pour  it all into a bowl or container you have with a lid that fits decently well. Store it in the fridge. Eat it with milk or add it to your cookie recipes for “Trail Mix” cookies. Yum!

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

There was a little Chia Pudding left over from last night, so I had it for breakfast with my Raw Granola. *happy dancing*

11 thoughts on “Chia Pudding and Granola

  1. meizac says:

    I’m skeptical of chia pudding….I put chia in my overnight oats, in my smoothies and on my salads, but I’ve been nervous about the pudding. Does it end up having a grainy sort of texture? I really should just bite the bullet and try it.

    Like

What do you think?

