Veggie Burgers

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

I’ve been curious about making Veggie Burgers, but until tonight hadn’t taken “the plunge” and tried. I’m happy I did! They were a massive hit. =0)

My middle Elfling helped me chuck things into the bowl, too. WOOT!

Veggie Burgers
2 C dried black beans* (navy, pinto, kidney, etc)
2 slices of toast*
½ C nutritional yeast
1 minced onion*
2-3 minced garlic* cloves
½ tsp cumin*
½ tsp turmeric*
2-3 chopped green onions*
handful of chopped parsley*
handful of shredded carrots*
salt and pepper* to taste
½ C water
oil* for frying
* = Organic

∴ Cook beans until tender and easy to mash, 3-4 hours. In a large bowl, mash the beans. Process slices of toast in food processor until you have decently small crumbs. To the mashed beans, add the crumbs, nutritional yeast, onion, garlic, cumin, turmeric, green onions, parsley, carrots, salt and pepper. Stir the mixture together. Taste to ensure balanced flavours. Mixture will be slightly dry. Add the water to bring the mixture together, making it possible to form patties. Fry patties in oil until brown. Enjoy!

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

Mashing-up the black beans.

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

All the veg and spices added.

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

A little water makes it stick together and ready for shaping.

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

Veggie Patties frying-up!

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

Flipped over!

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

Lovely spread of Veggie Patties and fixings. Yummy!

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

Happy and tucking-in to a Veggie Burger.

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

My “Garden Style” Veggie Burger. =0)

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2012 © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

I’m still really impressed there were so few left-overs. *happy dancing*

21 thoughts on “Veggie Burgers

    • Veggiewitch says:

      Not very much, really, other than flattening maybe. I was thinking about falafel while I made these, actually… lol. =0) I believe falafel are made with yellow pea, though. I’ll have to give making them a shot one of these days. *happy dancing*

      Like

      • throve says:

        Your recipe made me want to make falafels. For me the word falfel makes it sound exotic and takes your mind traveling in a meal, the expression vege burger tells it how it is. I think English kills ithe message sometimes. “happy mind wanderings”

        Like

      • throve says:

        Your post made me think falafel, on the ingredients list the parsley just jumped out at me. Falafels use chickpeas/garbanzo beans or fava beans. Either way, yum. Now if I can just find the falafel recipe that I used last time…

        Like

  1. meizac says:

    Hmmm…I’ll have to give this one a try. It looks yummy.
    Veganomicon (I think it’s that one, as I have all of her books) has a great veggie burger recipe, but it falls apart a little too easily (too much liquid, and I’ve not been able to get the right tweak on it).

    Like

    • Veggiewitch says:

      This one was soft and crumbled a bit, but the flavours were really nice and nobody minded. My Elflings had a second “burger” each, and nibbled on a patty after supper. They were ravenous after our walk to Grandma’s for cake. *happy dancing*

      Like

  2. Sophie33 says:

    Your tasty veggie burgers look amazing & pretty too! :) How, I love them so much! ;) My hubby also made veggie burgers last night with mushrooms, basil & nuts! Recipe follows later!

    Like

What do you think?

