Jenna Talackova, you go girl!


Jenna Talackova, 03/03/2012 Press Conference in L.A.

Jenna Talackova, 03/03/2012
Press Conference in L.A.

I don’t often watch the news. I generally avoid it, because it bugs me (it’s also imperative to wear either bullsh*t goggles or a bullsh*t decoder ring when viewing). Tonight was no different. There was a segment on Jenna Talackova, a model representing Canada in the Miss Universe pageant, who was recently disqualified for having been born a man. I was gobsmacked as the segment played on,  and my blood began to boil. I was seething. I’m pretty sure my eyes bugged out, too. Were they not aware that she had to have competed in and won pageants here in Canada in order to qualify? I highly doubt she showed up at Trump’s front door, and said: “Hey you, Donald. I think I look sufficiently similar to your daughter, only thinner, to have a solid shot at the Miss Uni title. What do you say?” all the while winking coyly at him. Pfffft! Whatever!

I’m not a huge fan of Gloria Allred, but I sure am glad Jenna secured her to represent this case. As it turns out, after a press conference today in Los Angeles, Donald Trump (the president and owner of the Miss Universe organization) opted to overturn the decision and allow Jenna back into the competition.

This is a step in the right direction, and a win for Human Rights. I really hope she wins. Go, Jenna, GO!

14 thoughts on “Jenna Talackova, you go girl!

  1. meizac says:

    I saw this yesterday and didn’t know how to describe how I felt about it until I read this right now. I, too, was gobsmacked.

    Even if we’re being complete jerks about this, would the assumption from the general public not be that it would actually be more difficult for her to win (similar to the excuse they use for disqualifying transwomen from competing in various sports…because of the assumption that it would be easier for them to win)?

    Having said that, I still despise everything ‘pageant’ and don’t understand why anyone would fight to be in one.

    I’m very happy that she got the result that she was looking for though (and never should have had to fight for in the first place).

    Like

    • Veggiewitch says:

      I’m definitely not a fan of pageants at all, and would never encourage my girls to subject themselves… but I’m also very glad Jenna got the disqualification overturned. To be honest, I’d be willing to bet money that the original decision to disqualify her in the first place, was primarily driven by men who felt cheated/insecure about being attracted to her, the goddess who had been born a man.

      I immediately thought of Tula/Caroline Cossey, from back in the 80’s. She made the talk show “circus” rounds. The male responses to her were always the same: “It’s not right that me, a straight guy, is attracted to you.” “You’re not really a girl.” blah blah blah ad nauseum… I was a teen, and my jaw always hung agape at the rudeness of the people. Gah!

      Politically/legally imposed puritanical ideals always push me to the brink.

      Like

  2. saradraws says:

    I heard about this. What discrimination. What a bunch of transphobia. Though the Donald is not known for his sensitivity.
    He’s just jealous that her hair is far superior to his own.

    Like

      • Veggiewitch says:

        Those are some scary links… eeeeeek!
        I don’t think there is a winner yet. To be fair, I’ve never been a fan of those pageants, but this case irked me because the majority of women competing have had some form of plastic surgery/augmentation or another. It was the sheer hypocrisy of it all.

        Like

What do you think?

