Tofu Salad and Veggiennaise

I’m late to the posting punch again tonight… I sort of felt like I just couldn’t find my brain today. I’m sure it’ll turn-up, though. /shrugs

Today an unrefined vegan totally inspired me with her Tofu Salad Sandwiches post. Yummmmmy! To be honest, I read the post just as I was struggling to “conjure” an idea for what to make my Elflings, who were also becoming a little ravenous. (Refer to above-mentioned suspicion that I had lost my brain.) When I looked through my pantry, I actually had just about everything the recipe asked for – everything but the Vegenaise. *gurgles*

2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

What did I do? I made some. *happy dancing*

Veggiennaise Veggiewitch-style
2 C oil* (olive is all I had today)
1 C coconut* milk (soy, almond)
2 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 Tbsp minced parsley*
salt and pepper* to taste
minced garlic*
1 Tbsp nutritional yeast (optional)
* = Organic

In a blender, add milk and oil. Begin to blend at high speed to incorporate. While blending, slowly add apple cider vinegar until the emulsion begins to thicken. Add parsley, salt, pepper, garlic and nutritional yeast. Continue to blend until mixed through. All done. Use as you would any other mayonnaise.

2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

My cute little “wasabi fish” was a lovely way to mash the garlic.

2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

Here is the Tofu Salad an unrefined vegan inspired me to make. My Elflings loved it, and kept saying it was better than the regular “egg salad” we used to eat. Awwwwe! ♥

Tofu Salad
1 block firm/extra firm tofu* (Soyganic)
1 chopped tomato*
2-3 chopped ribs celery*
1 handful minced parsley*
½ C chopped red pepper*
½ C chopped yellow pepper*
1 heaping soup-spoon veggiennaise
salt and pepper*
* = Organic

 Cut the tofu in half. Cube one half, and crumble the other half. Add everything to a bowl and stir to combine. Adjust salt and pepper to taste. Serve on your favorite bread or crackers. Enjoy!

25 thoughts on “Tofu Salad and Veggiennaise

  1. Shira says:

    Totally dig – her salad looked pretty darned tasty and this is looking yummy too! It didn’t hurt that she paired it with home made pita either, hey? I’ll have to get my tofu salad on too now…

    Like

  2. realfunfood says:

    I’ve been trying out vegan cooking for a while, but I haven’t yet tried any vegan mayo subs. To be honest I never used much mayo anyway, but I’m really wanting a potato/tofu salad type thing like this. I’ve also been using cashews and miso paste to replace traditionally creamy things. They work!

    Like

    • Veggiewitch says:

      It thickens when you add the acid (vinegar or lemon juice) … the oil and milk will try to get as far away from each other, but the vinegar will “break their” repellent barriers, and join them up.

      Like

What do you think?

