Potato and Kale Soup

I’ve been thinking a lot about my Oma (Grandmother) lately. She is in a “Home for the Elderly” in B.C., because of Alzheimer’s. I haven’t seen her in almost 6 years, but she is on my mind regularly. I think about her most when I’m cooking. My Oma cooked like a pro, and everything was from scratch. Her cakes were gorgeous, delectable works of art, especially her pflaumenkuchen (German blue plum torte). I miss that so much, and will definitely be making it when plum season is in full swing. I remember my Oma had a pot of soup going all the time, too. Her soups were the stuff of dreams, and often filled mine. They still do, and I aspire to make soups even half as good as my Oma’s, because I’m certain I could not make them better.

2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

My latest soupy creation was a Potato and Kale construct. It was a hit, with my youngest having 3 bowls full. ♥

Potato and Kale Soup
3 large, washed and peeled potatoes*
1 bunch of kale*
1 minced onion*
2-3 cloves minced garlic*
handful minced parsley*
salt and pepper*
oil* for sauteing
water to cover veg completely
bay leaf*
* = Organic

∴ Dice potatoes into bite-sized pieces, and set aside. In a large dutch oven or stock pot, saute onion in oil until translucent. Add potato chunks and saute a little longer. Add garlic, kale, parsley, salt and pepper. Stir to toss mixture. Cover with water, add a bay leaf and cook over medium-high heat until potatoes are tender. Season to taste. Enjoy!

2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

This is my new favourite soup to make. =0)

11 thoughts on “Potato and Kale Soup

  1. Looks and sounds fantastic, VW.
    Happy Secular Easter to you and your wonderful family.
    Le Zombie Clown

What do you think?

