Happily Healing

Last week I burned my fingers making Mandioca Frita, but I’m super-happy with how well they’re (especially my left, middle digit) is healing. I used honey and bandages to speed their mend, and I’m super-glad I actually had some. I totally agree that honey is for bees, but in this case it saved me from synthetics and over-the-counter goop that likely wouldn’t have worked nearly as well. It was pretty ghastly when it popped… but I will spare you the gory details. Hot oil burns suck.

2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

Burned fingers
2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

This was my finger yesterday, a full week later.

2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

Healing fingers 1 week later
2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

This is my finger today. Heaps better still.

25 thoughts on “Happily Healing

  1. Emma Sarah Tennant says:

    Honey is wonderful for healing. There is quite a lot of research on manuka honey to heal burns. Lavender essential oil is also amazing to dab neat on minor burns – I always keep a bottle in the kitchen because I am clumsy!

    Like

  2. Rachel in Veganland says:

    You know what works great for burns? It’s weird but SOY SAUCE! Give it a shot next time, it even helps with the pain!

    Like

  3. CM says:

    I use honey for washing my face – It works especially well for my Rosacea . I was on a topical steroid before which did “help” a lot, but it made me VERY photosensitive & helped aid in making my skin very sensitive to sunburning [even just if stepping into artificial or natural sunlight momentarily]. Once I started washing with the honey, I noticed that my Rosacea dissipated & my pores began to get noticeably smaller after the first wash! I believe that honey, in its natural state, is very healing.

    Like

    • Veggiewitch says:

      I totally agree. Especially when compared to the synthetic and chemical alternatives, I still prefer to use natural, healing honey… sparingly. =0)

      I’ve just looked at my left-middle finger, because it was the worst burned, and there is virtually no scar at all. I hadn’t even thought of it until today! Thank you for reminding me. *squishy hugs*

      Like

What do you think?

