Latke-rama!


Despite the photo, this was not my plate
2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

My Elflings have been bugging me to make latkes, so last night I caved. I do love potato pancakes, but I don’t always feel like making them.

Potato Latkes
8-10 potatoes*
1 medium onion*
2-3 cloves garlic*
1 C flour*
salt and pepper* to taste
oil* for frying
* = Organic

 Wash your potatoes, then grate them into a large bowl. Chop onions and mince garlic, and add it to potato shreds. Season with salt and a bit of pepper. Stir to combine. Sprinkle flour over the works, and mix it all up. Drop by soup-spoonful into hot oil. Have them as a side with other savoury foods, or sprinkle with sugar or a dollop of apple sauce. Enjoy!

They smell so good!
2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

**No fingers were harmed, burned, or otherwise splashed with hot oil during the making of these latkes.

17 thoughts on “Latke-rama!

  1. I laughed reading this – last night my 11 year came home from scfhool adament to make pancakes. Spatulas flew, oil did spill and several fingers were indeed burnt, but the pancakes were yummy and the 11 year old was proud of his accomplishment. The lakes look yum! Maybe next …

    • Thanks! ♥
      They are pretty traditional European fare. My Oma used to make them all the time, only she used egg in hers. Mine turn out well without the egg though. =0)

  2. Mmmmm thanks for the recipe share! I’m looking forward to trying your version! I just adore latkes and Maddie and I made them this past holiday season together. They were SOOOO delicious!

What do you think?

