Creamy Polenta

A big bowl of yummy polenta
2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

I’ve been reminiscing about the foods I’d eaten while in Brasil, and decided to try a old favourite out on my Elflings. I’m not sure what took me so long to make Polenta. My Elflings went mad for it! ♥

Creamy Polenta
6 C water
2 C corn* grits
1 chopped onion*
2 tsp salt
3 Tbsp veggie butter*
* = Organic

∴ Bring water to a boil in wide skillet or stockpot. Add the salt to the water. Stir in dry corn grits and chopped onion. Stir or whisk the mixture constantly to avoid sticking. After about 10 minutes the grits will be soft. Add your veggie butter and stir through to incorporate. Serve warm as a side with savoury dishes. If you prefer to have this as a desert or breakfast, omit the onions and serve with cinnamon and/or maple syrup. Enjoy!

bubble, bubble, toil and trouble…
2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

Waiting for the water to boil. *taps foot*

I’m just so excited for this. =0)
2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

Dear Polenta; I can’t wait to eat you! xoxo Veggiewitch ♥

It’s coming together!
2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

Stirring and stirring and stirring the pot!

Yum, yum, yummy!
2011-Current © copyright veggiewitch, all rights reserved

Just look at the veggie butter melt and get all oozy. It adds a wonderful creaminess and richness to the dish. I’m so glad my Elflings loved it as much as I do.

7 thoughts on “Creamy Polenta

  1. Another awesome dish! I’ve never had polenta before, but I really really want to try making it now :D

What do you think?

