Kids know…

Reading Boy

I’ve got to say, children know a heck of a lot more than the vast majority of people give them credit for. Since dropping meat and dairy in favour of a vegan diet, I’ve often found myself considering my children’s (and my own, for that matter) initial distaste for meat. I remember hating the way meat felt in my mouth, and I recall each of my Elflings being nonplussed each time I’d try and offer meat when they were babies. In hindsight, I’m like WTF? Is it me, or do most kids really not like meat at all. I’m going to venture a guess that eating/liking meat is a learned trait. If we were in fact carnivores, our digestive systems would be short like those of: lions, cheetahs, tigers, hyenas, etc. If we were in fact omnivores, our digestive systems would be like those of bears? What the fluff is a true omnivorous creature anyway, for the sake of comparison? Our digestive systems are virtually identical to (and long like) other herbivores: cows, sheep, rabbits, etc. Kind of makes me wonder…

18 thoughts on “Kids know…

  1. Gabby @ the veggie nook says:

    Very good point! I honestly can’t remember if I liked meat as a child- I know I definitely ate it. But before I went vegetarian I found I was indifferent to it’s taste. It was more the tastes of things it was cooked with and how it felt substantial- all things of course that can be done with vegetable-based foods :)

    Like

    • Veggiewitch says:

      I have been thinking the same things – meat takes on what you cook it with (spices, herbs, tubers, sauces), or how you cook it (bbq, roasted, etc). I cannot remember ever liking the texture. ;0)

      Like

  2. meizac says:

    I went off meat when I was 14 because I hated it so much and was finally allowed to make my own choices (or at least put up enough of a fuss that it wasn’t worth fighting with me). Kids are far more instinctual than we are….

    Like

  3. clownonfire says:

    VW,
    I think it’s because we don’t add enough nitrates in their meat. If we would add MSG, nitrate and a few other wonderful ingredients, they would thrive or a carnivore lifestyle.
    Le Clown

    Like

  4. Fish Out of Water says:

    I am an unabashed meat eater, but when I became pregnant with Little One I was disgusted by meat. I ate very little during that pregnancy. Guess who turned out to be a vegetarian all by his lonesome? That’s right, Little One. OK, he’s not totally a veg., he eats bacon, but he won’t touch a burger or a chicken nugget to save his life. I always wonder if he is like that because of my distaste for meat during the pregnancy or if I had a distaste for meat during the pregnancy because he was living in there. :-) It’s like a vegetarian chicken or egg scenario.

    Like

    • Veggiewitch says:

      Very interesting to consider. I don’t think it’s uncommon at all to “lose” a taste for meat while you’re knocked-up. In all three of my pregnancies, I craved pretty much every fruit or veg I could get my hands on, and I wasn’t even close to a vegetarian either time.

      Like

  5. Sophie says:

    I still eat meat 2 x/ week & still loveit. i use meat from my organic farmer nearby or from friends who don’t add bad stuff & hormones to their meat.

    Like

    • Veggiewitch says:

      Awesome! When we were still eating meat, albeit occasionally, we really struggled to find a reliable and affordable source for organic meat (beef and chicken only). That proved very difficult here. Our diets were totally organic, except for the occasional meat we ate, so it kind of defeated the purpose for us. As we started to question that logic, we were open to the ethics of the meat and dairy industry, and the rest is history for the Veggiewitch Family. ♥

      It is great that you have someone local you can rely on for quality and consistency, though. ♥

      Like

  6. Rachel in Veganland says:

    You make so many good points here! I hated meat when I was a wee one (some of the photos of me at the dinner table are down right hilarious, especially when I was forced to eat trout) and certainly don’t miss/crave the taste now. I think that the consumption of meat is certainly a social construction-we’re neither equipped nor engineered to eat the stuff. I truly feel that larger systems of power (corporations i.e. the meat industry) has made us think that meat is the only way to get protein and be healthy. WRONGO! Where do vegans get our protein? The same place as the cows whose flesh meat eaters consume for protein-plants and the earth! Great post, and keep on ranting!!!

    Like

    • Veggiewitch says:

      Totally! About 50 years ago, our forebears were eating meat for “special occasions” and Sunday Dinners, not daily. We’ve done a huge disservice to our animal counterparts by industrializing meat and the consumption of it. Not to mention our handiwork in such lethal germs as e-coli and campylobacter (directly related to meat industry environment). Sometimes human being can be so stupid, when they think they’re being so smart.

      Like

  7. jevismavieenvert says:

    I really enjoyed this post, and your observations are so true. I have such vivid memories of crying at the dinner table when my mum tried to feed me meat. I remember that it always just looked really horrible to me, though I obviously didn’t know why. When I was six, I understood for the first time where meat came from, and stopped eating it instantly. Luckily, because my mum is amazing and supportive, rather than trying to stop me going meat-free, she simply took me to a nutritionist to ensure that she was feeding me the right things, and allowed me to follow my heart. I stopped wearing leather shoes at age 10 when I made that connection, and she supported me again. It sounds as though you’re just as open-minded and supportive with your Elflings as my mum was with me :)

    Like

    • Veggiewitch says:

      That is so wonderful of your mum! It would be nice of more parents were as open-minded. ♥

      I know the whole protein myth and meat is a tough one to accept for many, but maybe more and more people are coming to it. I would venture a guess that people are also going off meat due to the ghastly nature of feed-lot environments, and chicken sheds. Those are so horrible.

      Like

  8. Somer says:

    My kids both detested meat and I had to force them to eat it. And getting them to chew it up, impossible, their little teeth are just not designed for it! It would just end up in a chewed up lump on the side of their plate. SO much smarter than us. It took me 34 years to figure out this one!

    Like

What do you think?

