Rhubarb Preserves

Rhubarb Preserves

We had a massive mess of rhubarb just below our deck, and I was determined to do something with it, I just wasn’t sure what. Last year the maintenance guys for our condo board whacked it all off. I was seething! This year I was faster than those hack and slash neanderthals! I had never actually cooked/made anything with rhubarb before, so I looked it up. The interwebs are wonderful! hehe… Basically, all I did was: cut, wash, chop, sprinkle with sugar, let it sit in the fridge over-night, cooked it until it was soft, poured it into sterilized jars, put lids on, boiling bath, done. It’s really good on bread, but I can see it would be really nice on/in cakes and things, too. *happy dancing*

18 thoughts on “Rhubarb Preserves

  1. texasdruids says:

    Rhubarb, yum! My Minnesota grandparents used to grow it every year. Grandma fixed preserves much like yours, and she always gave my mom some raw rubarb. Mom sometimes fixed strawberry-rhubarb pie. That was delish! I haven’t tasted it in years. Here in Texas, rhubard doesn’t seem to be very popular, possibly because it doesn’t grow well in our hot climate.

    Like

    • Veggiewitch says:

      Awesome! I’d like to make some strawberry-rhubarb something-or-other, too. ♥
      Hmmm… It seems rhubarb just grows like mad in some places. I wonder if you could grow some in TX? ♥
      To be honest, I’d really love some TX heat right about now. It’s freaking cold and rainy here. =0(

      Like

    • Veggiewitch says:

      My German Oma was always cooking and baking. I hope to cook and bake at least half as good as my Oma. ♥
      I’m going to use some of these preserves in a version of pflaumenkuchen tonight. ♥
      *happy dancing*

      Like

  2. Moriah LaChapell Schalock says:

    Strawberry rhubard pie is very popular in Oregon. My mother grew it just to make that pie. Always made me feel nervous that the leaves were poisonous. Like they would jump out and get me.

    Like

  3. texasdruids says:

    Veggie, what part of the country do you live in? Must be north from here (Fort Worth, TX) if you’re still enjoying cool weather. We’re supposed to go over 100 for the third day in a row. Last summer we endured a terrible drought and 70+ days of over 100 degrees. It was a killer, literally, of both humans and animals. I hope we don’t have a repeat of that this year.

    Like

    • Veggiewitch says:

      Oh no! That is awful! =0(
      I’m a little further north, in Alberta, Canada. I think we might be in the same timezone, MST, but much colder than you. =0/
      I hope the heat ebbs some for you all.
      *squishy hugs*

      Like

  4. Rachel in Veganland says:

    I am so severely jealous of your rhubarb crop! I think that is one of the most delicious but unsung garden heroes on earth and I am so glad to see it make an appearance on your blog!

    Like

What do you think?

