Our Garden Grows!

Pea Shoots

I’m so pleased with our peas coming up! This is our first year and the first place we’re able to have a garden! I’m giddy as a little girl that our seeds have sprouted! I just want to dance and sing and squeeeeee!

Pea Shoots

Here are a few more pics of my pretty, little peas.

Pea Shoots

And another. I’m just so excited to eat these. It’s a good thing we have so many coming up, because my youngest Elfling could live on peas!

Sunflower with Shell

I find this little sunflower sprout with its shell still attached so endearing. It’s beautiful!

Nibbled Sunflower

Apparently there have been some critters who also like our garden. This sunflower sprout has been nibbled on already. ;0)

Vetch for Bunnies

We’ve scattered some pretty vetch around our garden, too. This sweet, little plant will reintroduce nitrogen to our garden for next year, and make our soil better for it. It’s also got a second job in our garden… I put it there (with a few different varieties of clover) to feed the local bunnies. These plants are overwintering, so there should be some goodies for the foragers who visit us throughout the coming years. ♥

9 thoughts on “Our Garden Grows!

  1. Victor Tookes says:

    I live in an apartment and for the first time ever, I have a container garden going this year. I have 6 zucchini, 5 green beans, 4 hot peppers, 4 bell peppers, and 8 tomato plants, plus 2 boxes of basil. It’s been a challenge, but growing your own food is like printing your own money. I’ve already eaten green beans twice and a dozen zucchini’s, which means the $15 worth of seeds have paid for themselves already.
    Such a great feeling! Congrats on the garden!

    Like

    • Veggiewitch says:

      I know! They’re like babies! My Elflings keep talking to them in cute, little voices. This garden has brought us together to create it, and so much joy already. I can’t wait for our first harvest. I’m so excited! ❤

      Like

  2. Sophie33Sophie33 says:

    Congrats to your gardening skills & congrats with the new blog lay-out! I love it too! :) I do a lot of container gardining & have a fully grown garden too, with real soil, etc! Good luck with it all, my dear beloved friend! :) xxx

    Like

What do you think?

