Blue Morpho Butterfly

Blue Morpho Butterfly

Photo via Google

When I lived in Brazil, I saw a shop that carried plaques depicting people in various aspects of life. It wasn’t until I looked closer that I noticed there were wings of the blue morpho butterfly incorporated into each scene. I was only 14 at the time, but that sudden realization left me feeling sick to my stomach. I couldn’t understand how such beautiful lives could wantonly be sacrificed for cheap, tacky excuses for art. As much as I said I wouldn’t do it, I’m thinking my next tattoo will be a butterfly after all, a blue morpho, Ok, maybe not the “next” tattoo I get, but I’ll find a spot suitable for one. ;0)

7 thoughts on “Blue Morpho Butterfly

  1. celestedimilla says:

    I can’t believe how compassionate and aware you were at 14!! When I was just a little younger than 14 I had a collection of butterflies I caught and pinned to a chart to display. I didn’t think anything about the lives of the butterflies I caught. I’m more aware now, but it took me a long time to get here. Anyway – I’m all for a butterfly tattoo! Celeste :)

    Like

    • Veggiewitch says:

      Sorry this reply is late… /blush

      It’s pretty natural for kids to collect critters, and as a mini-scientist (so many kids are), it makes sense to collect items from nature that fascinate and inspire. My Elflings still always want to catch lady bugs, but I insist they love them a little and promptly release them. ;0)

      I grew up around my father and his pelt (coyote, bear, etc.) collection, as well as a myriad of mounted elk and deer heads. It upset me then as much as it unsettles me now.

      Like

What do you think?

