This, That, and the Other

Tired

Photo via Google

So many things have me exhausted these last few weeks, and that’s been the main reason I’ve been too tired or distracted to keep up-to-date on my blog. I am bad!

Just prior to resuming Homeschool this past September, I started a new job at the local Shoppers Drugmart/Pharma Prix. So far, I’m really liking it. It gets me out of the house and talking to people my own age, as well as the added bonus of a little income. The store is open until 12:00 every night, and since my mister works during the day, it fits with my availability of 5:30pm – 12:00am, plus weekend and holiday days. The downside is being tired from the closing shifts, but that’s manageable. ;0)

I’ve noticed a few odd happenings with my mother, as well, since starting my job. It seems my schedule changes are throwing her off course, and impacting her in a way I had not anticipated. She’s extra confused lately, and a few of her more unusual traits are actually becoming more unusual. She’s presenting additional oddities lately (insomnia, spontaneous bladder evacuation on her bedroom floor once, her paranoia is increasing), which have me concerned, too. I’m/we’re reassuring her and trying to keep her calm, as well as documenting the behaviours to share during her appointment on November 7th. At that time I will be petitioning for a medication change, also. Our health care system is encouraging families to care for their elderly, and I want to, but I am not equipped to manage the myriad of negative side-effects from the toxic, garbage that l-dopa is. Not to mention, I would hardly call a “medical treatment” a success when it may stop her tremoring, but it causes 20 other serious side-effects. Doctors piss me off so much, and it’s blatantly obvious they’re not interested in proper care as much as they are the fucking commission they get for every single script they push and peddle on people. That, and too many doctors are not willing to try a different approach, despite studies showing positive effects. Anyway, I’m bracing myself for a fight to get my mother off the shit she’s on now, and onto cesamet, a cannabinoid derivative higher in CBD (for a body calming effect) than THC (hallucinatory effect from heating marihuana), which has proven effective in trials with Parkinson’s patients. I may just be pleasantly surprised, and have the doctors work with me to this end, but I’m sure not going to hold my breath.

At any rate, that’s the last few weeks in a nutshell. I’ll do better in future. Thanks for hanging-in there. ;0)

What do you think?

